Friday, March 13, 2009

Late. Prof. Daya Krishna Memorial lecture (4th March, 2009)

Late. Prof. Daya Krishna Memorial Lecture (4th March, 2009)

Prof. Daya Krishna Philosophy Award 2009

Prof. Daya Krishna Philosophy Award 2009

Late. Professor Daya Krishna Memorial Lecture and Prof. Daya Krishna Awards -2009 (4th March, 2009)

Department of Philosophy organized Prof. Daya Krishna Memorial Lecture and Prof. Daya Krishna Awards 2009 in the College Campus. Dr. Lallan Singh Baghel from Department of Philosophy, Panjab University, Chandigarh, delivered a lecture on the life, works and teachings of Prof. Daya Krishna.

The session was presided by Mr. M. R. Manchanda, Secretary, Management Committee of the college and chaired by College Principal Dr. (Mrs.) Madhu Prashar. In the lecture around 400 students of the Department actively participated

Dr Lallan Singh Baghel said that, “Daya Krishna was an eminent thinker and a prolific writer. He published over two hundred articles on various topics: philosophy, sociology, historiography, economy, and polity, even literature. He edited the Journal of the Indian Council of Philosophical Research for three decades and not merely published an article-per-volume but also wrote the "Focus" and "Agenda for Research" columns, in which he tried to forge new philosophical paths and encourage fresh thinking.” The notion of samvâda , "live dialogue" or "open debate," was an essential ingredient of Dayaji 's philosophical work.
“He raised fundamental questions on classical texts and carried out a series of dialogue between the Indian and Western approaches to philosophy. He was a person without complexes. Very open-minded, critical and always looking for new ideas.”
Dayaji, as he was widely called by his students, continuous to be most popular teacher, philosopher friend amongst his students and friends till date.”

In the second session Mr. M. R. Manchanda, Principal Dr. Madhu Prashar and Dr. lallan Singh Baghel felicitated the outstanding students of the Department of Philosophy with the prestigious Prof. Daya Krishna Award 2009.

Amongst the students Amandeep Kaur and Prabhdeep Kaur received the prize for working efficiently as President of Philosophical Society: A Students Discussion Forum, for session 2008-2009. Lovedeep Kaur, Impinderjeet Kaur and Popsy Jain as Coordinators, Navdeep Kaur and Harpriya of B.A. II as Vice President, Gurpreet Kaur, manpreet Kaur and Rajbir Kaur as General Secretaries, Rupinder Kaur B.A. I, Sapanpreet Kaur B.A. I, Dawinderpreet B.A. I, Sukhdeep Kaur B.A. I and Poonam Bharadwaj B.A.I as Joint Secretaries and Navdeep Kaur B.A. III, Dharambir Kaur B.A. III and Sakshi +2 as Public Relation Officers.

Thirty one students, who presented papers in different students seminars organized by the society were also felicitated.

On the occasion Principal Dr. Madhu Prashar lauded the role of the department in creating critical rationality amongst the students and faculty of the college. She appreciated the hard work of the students and the faculty for creating space for dialogue on current and other issues and problems in the college campus.

Mr. Ambuj Sharma of the Department extended the vote of thanks to the resource person and said that the Function was a great tribute to the legendry contemporary Philosopher of India, Daya Krishna, whose works and teachings will continue to inspire the interest and knowledge of youngsters towards discourses of philosophy.